#41: Wattstax

In this episode, West concludes his Rocktober series with music from Mel Stuart’s 1973 film Wattstax.

Music in this episode includes:

“Whatcha See Is Whatcha Get” written by Tony Hester; performed by The Dramatics

“Peace Be Still” Traditional; performed by The Emotions

“Best Of My Love” written by Maurice White & Al McKay; performed by The Emotions

“Respect Yourself” written by Luther Ingram & Mack Rice; performed by The Staple Singers

“Son Of Shaft/Feel It” written by Allen Jones, Homer Banks & William Brown; performed by The Bar-Kays

“I’ll Play The Blues For You” written by Jerry Beach; performed by Albert King

“Jody’s Got Your Girl And Gone” written by Don Davis, Kent Barker & Cam Wilson; performed by Johnnie Taylor

“Do The Funky Chicken” written and performed by Rufus Thomas

“Theme From Shaft” and “Soulsville” written and performed by Isaac Hayes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s